HomeJoin the LeagueMeet Your LegislatorsOur Work and PositionsRedistrictingVoter Service ActivitiesMaking Democracy Work AwardLunch with the LeagueOfficers & MeetingsLinksLeader Resources


The LWVSWIN Redistricting Committee usually meets on the second Thursday of each month at 3:30 pm in the small conference room at Central Library. 


Letter: We need a plan for fair redistricting

2020 is the next census. That means WE, the citizens of Indiana, need to keep the pressure on our state legislature to move legislation that will put an independent, transparent, fair Redistricting Commission in place for the redistricting that will occur in 2021. Indeed, this past year even Gov. Holcomb noted that Indiana should reform its redistricting procedure. YOU need to contact your Indiana state Senator and Representative.

Because of redistricting decisions made in 2011, many districts in Indiana are non-competitive within and/or between parties, which means we do not get to choose who represents us. Instead, the legislators drew the districts in their favor and, chose who can vote for them. It also means, because they have “safe (i.e., non-competitive) districts” that they can pursue their own legislative agendas and ignore action on the bills that many, if not most, of their constituents favor.

League of Women Voters Indiana, Common Cause Indiana, Hoosier Environmental Council, WOMEN4CHANGE, and many other groups are working together for non-partisan, fair, and transparent redistricting. Cities and counties, including Evansville and Vanderburgh County, have endorsed resolutions supporting Redistricting Reform.
This year three redistricting bills have been submitted. SB91, the most comprehensive of the three bills, proposes a.) establishing a redistricting commission to create, take public input on, and recommend plans to redraw general assembly and congressional districts; b.) creating a redistricting commission nominating committee to evaluate applicants for the five non-legislative seats on the proposed commission; and c.) establishing standards to govern the commission and the agency that will create the redistricting plans. SB91 also provides for a meeting of the General assembly to enact the redistricting plans before October 1 of the redistricting year, 2021, i.e. the year following the decennial census. It would repeal the current law. SB91 is not perfect but is an improvement over the current procedure in which the party “in power” in the state legislature draws the district lines.

Stay informed, write to, email, and talk with your Indiana House and Senate legislators to encourage their support for legislation that establishes a nonpartisan, independent, transparent Redistricting Commission and procedure during the 2019 legislative session. The address for all state legislators is 200 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204; phone numbers are available at iga.in.gov then “find your legislator”. Talk to them in person at Meet Your Legislators and the Town Halls.

- Meg Connolly and Deb Schade, League of Women Voters of Southwestern Indiana (Evansville Courier & Press February 7, 2019)

An LWVSWIN resolution calling for an independent redistricting commission in Indiana was passed by the Evansville City Council on 9/11/17. The Vanderburgh County Commissioners passed a similar resolution on 10/3/17.






Re-Districting Reform Event with a Twist:

Gerrymander Meander 2017


WHO:  League of Women Voters of Southwestern Indiana and St. Lucas UCC invited the local community of all ages, races, ethnicities, creeds, and genders to learn about and improve the power of a vote.


WHAT:  Options including taking a 2.1 mile “meander” along cthe hoppy boundary of IN House Districts 77 and 78; or remaining at St. Lucas Church to learn more about how Indiana district lines are drawn for elections. 


WHEN:   Monday, July 10 from 6:00-8:00 pm


WHERE:  St. Lucas UCC, 33 W Virginia St., Evansville.


WHY:  Indiana state voting district rules allow legislators in power to draw voting districts.  Hundreds of groups and thousands of people around the state are pushing for non-partisan district mapping.

This event raises awareness on the topic.


And More WHY:   Elbridge Gerry – the dubious and infamous father of Gerry-mandering was born in July.  We walked in his dust.

Letter to the Evansville C&P Editor: Keep redistricting hopes alive (published in the Evansville Courier February 24, 2017)

Citizens plan to continue to fight for an Independent, nonpartisan Redistricting Commission in Indiana and to make the 2018 session of the Indiana legislature a referendum on redistricting reform.

Many districts around the state are non-competitive.  Often our citizens do not have a true choice of candidates, either within or between parties.

In Indiana The League of Women Voters, Common Cause, Hoosier Environmental Council, Citizens Action Coalition, Enterprise Republicans, Women 4 Change, Friends Committee on Legislation, and others, are committed to helping ensure that redistricting is done in a non-partisan, fair, and transparent way.  In addition to the cities and counties in Indiana that have passed resolutions endorsing redistricting reform, the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce recently endorsed the resolution for redistricting reform. 

Indiana House Bill 1014 was the redistricting reform bill (co-sponsored by Speaker Brian Bosma (R) and Rep. Jerry Torr (R) that followed recommendations of the Special Interim Study Committee on Redistricting Reform which met during 2016.  As reported in a Courier Press article 2-20-17, HB1014 was heard in committee on Wednesday, February 15, 2017 but not brought to the floor for a vote.  What is encouraging is that a committee member who had been unsure about the bill indicated that the great citizen support he witnessed led to a decision to support it, had a vote been held.  Were others willing to support the bill also?  We have been deprived of knowing how OUR representatives would have voted.

We encourage you to stay informed and to talk with both your Indiana House and Senate legislators to encourage their support for legislation establishing a nonpartisan redistricting commission during the 2018 legislative session.

from Meg Connolly, Chairperson of the Redistricting Committee of the League of Women Voters of Southwestern Indiana